Jean-Antoine Girault

Current position

Group leader, Research Director (Inserm DRCE)

Host institution

Institut du Fer à Moulin, Inserm & Sorbonne Université, Paris, France

Neurotransmission and signaling


Jean-Antoine Girault aims to identify the intracellular signaling mechanisms which underlie long term behavioral changes. The ability of the nervous system to adapt to a variable environment depends on the modulation and plasticity of synapses between these neurons, which is regulated by their activity and by multiple neuromodulators.

Long term changes also involve morphological modifications and variations in protein translation and gene transcription.

Current research in the lab includes genome-wide studies of cell type-specific transcription and epigenetic modifications in basal ganglia, as well as exploration of the role of tyrosine kinase Pyk2 in neuronal properties and neurodegenerative diseases.


Read more


• 1984 MD., Neurologist, University Paris 6, France

• 1986 Ph.D. in Health and Life sciences, Molecular and Cellular Pharmacology, University Paris 6, France, Jacques Glowinski’s lab Marie-Jo Besson’s group, Collège de France, Paris.

• 1987-1989 Postdoctoral fellow and the assistant professor, Paul Greengard’s lab, Rockefeller University, New-York, USA.

• 1990-1992, Inserm scientist (CR1), group leader, U114, Collège de France

• 1992-1999 Inserm research director (DR2), group leader, U114, Collège de France

• 2000-2006 Inserm research director (DR1), director of Inserm Unit U536, Fer à Moulin

• 2007-2020 Inserm research director (DR1) (DRCE, 2009), director of the Institut du Fer à Moulin, UMR-S839 and then UMR-S1270, Inserm and Sorbonne University


• Brixham Foundation Price, attributed by the Foundation for Medical Research, 2016

• Lamonica Award for Neurobiology, French Academy of Sciences, 2013

• European Research Council (ERC) Advanced Grant 2010

• Coup d’élan Grant, Foundation Bettencourt-Schueller, 2002

• FSER laureate, 2000

• Antoine Lacassagne Award, French Academy of Sciences, 1997

• Stanley Award, National Alliance for the Mentally Ill, 1990